Pierre Macharis CEO at VPK Packaging

"Courcelles, the chosen site’s location, is ideal, very well connected at the level of the Mons-Charleroi motorway section, which will enable us to spread all over Wallonia, towards Brussels, Northern France and Southern Flanders"

The Belgian packaging giant is investing 6.5 million euros into a brand new production site at Courcelles in view of attracting Walloon SMEs.

The new corrugated cardboard production and distribution site will bear the name of ‘Cartonneries de Wallonie’ and will be VPK’s very first site in Wallonia. ”This particular type of packaging – very bulky and inexpensive – must be produced just in time and to very tight deadlines”, explains Pierre Macharis, CEO of VPK Packaging. ”It is thus vital for us to be close to our clientele and we want to target the Walloon SME market.

In addition, the chosen site’s location is ”ideal, very well connected at the level of the Mons-Charleroi motorway section, which will enable us to spread all over Wallonia, towards Brussels, Northern France and Southern Flanders”, adds the CEO.

The investment of  6.5 million euros on the site, will finally create a good thirty jobs.

The ‘Cartonneries de Wallonie’ plant will be the group’s most modern site in Belgium. The printing processes will be digitised to a great extent, allowing to gather speed.

The new plant fits in the investment strategy of the group, which will invest 60 million euros this year. The group is furthermore focusing greatly on Belgium, ”which is a wonderful country in terms of infrastructure and location, adds the CEO.

VPK Packaging specialises in protective packaging products for logistics in the food, cosmetics and consumer products sectors and operates across Europe. Its turnover exceeds 800 million euros, generating a profit of over 100 million euros.

Your tools :

  • Bookmark this page
  • Print this page

Pierre Macharis CEO chez VPK Packaging

"Courcelles a été choisi car il offre un emplacement idéal, extrêmement bien desservi au niveau des axes autoroutiers Mons-Charleroi, ce qui nous permettra de rayonner dans toute la Wallonie, vers Bruxelles, le nord de la France et le sud de la Flandre."

Le géant belge de l’emballage investit 6,5 millions d’euros dans un tout nouveau site de production à Courcelles avec  pour objectif de séduire les PME wallonnes.

Le nouveau site de production  et distribution de cartons ondulés portera le nom de «Cartonneries de Wallonie » il s’agit d’une toute première implantation en Wallonie. »Ce type spécifique d’emballage, très volumineux et bon marché doit être produit à flux tendu et sur des délais très courts« , explique Pierre Macharis, CEO de VPK Packaging, « il est donc primordial pour nous d’être proche de notre clientèle et nous voulons nous attaquer au marché des PME wallonnes« .

En outre, l’emplacement du site choisi est « idéal, extrêmement bien desservi au niveau des axes autoroutiers Mons-Charleroi, ce qui nous permettra de rayonner dans toute la Wallonie, vers Bruxelles, le nord de la France et le sud de la Flandre« , ajoute le CEO.

L’investissement, qui se chiffre à  6,5 millions d’euros sur le site, créera à terme une trentaine d’emplois.

Les Cartonneries de Wallonie seront le site le plus moderne du groupe en Belgique. Les processus d’impression y seront en grande partie numérisés, ce qui permettra de gagner en rapidité.

La nouvelle implantation rentre dans le cadre d’une stratégie plus large du groupe, qui investira 60 millions d’euros cette année. Le groupe mise d’ailleurs largement sur la Belgique, « qui est un pays fantastique en termes d’infrastructures et de localisation« , ajoute le CEO.

Spécialisé dans les produits d’emballage de protection pour la logistique dans les secteurs de l’alimentaire, des cosmétiques et des produits de consommation, VPK Packaging est actif partout en Europe et dépasse les 800 millions d’euros de chiffre d’affaires, pour un bénéfice de plus de 100 millions d’euros.

Vos outils :

  • Bookmark this page
  • Imprimer cette page